An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News Around the Fleet

News | Aug. 26, 2020

HMAS Arunta first AMCAP frigate to fire missiles at RIMPAC

By Shaun Donnelly

The first frigate to complete the Anzac Midlife Capability Assurance Program (AMCAP) upgrade, HMAS Arunta has successfully fired Surface-to-Air Missiles at Exercise Rim of the Pacific in Hawaii.
Conducted alongside ships from Canada and the United States, the firing demonstrated the lethality of the upgraded Anzac class frigate and its world-class Australian systems, said Commanding Officer Arunta Commander Troy Duggan.
“This is the first time an AMCAP frigate has participated in RIMPAC, and demonstrates the capability of the new phased array radar suite as an integrated sensor for the combat system,” Commander Duggan said.
Completed in 2019, the upgrade provides the Anzac-class frigates the first CEAFAR2-L long-range phased-array air search radar. This world-leading radar technology has been designed in Australia to provide long-range situational awareness to the ship and allied units.
Missile firings are conducted on the Pacific Missile Range Facility in Hawaii.
The range used remote controlled drones to simulate missile attack profiles against Arunta, and the ship engaged them with Surface-to-Air Missiles.
Commander Duggan said the ship’s company had trained extensively for this event.
“These sorts of complex warfighting exercises with multinational partners demonstrate that the Royal Australian Navy is able to operate seamlessly with other highly-advanced navies in our region,” he said.
HMA Ships Hobart, Stuart, Arunta and Sirius, are taking part in exercise RIMPAC in Hawaii.
Ten nations, 22 surface ships, one submarine, multiple aircraft, and approximately 5,300 personnel will participate in this iteration of RIMPAC.
It includes forces from Australia, Brunei, Canada, France, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, and the United States.
Participating forces will exercise a wide range of capabilities from multinational anti-submarine warfare, maritime intercept operations, and live-fire training events, among other cooperative training opportunities.